in medias res

home stilllife

2012 was an embroidered hem, 2012 was a frayed cuff, 2012 was a wide sea serged with a single thread. Time running like a chain stitch, a sovereign without an heir. Far shores glittered with snow. Last January’s footprints, salt-sodden and shapeless, point toward a horizon on a collision course with itself. There’s a thread in my hand, a crewelwork rosette on my tongue. Musa, mihi causas memora. We are always in medias res. The year is dead; long live the Year.

6 comments on “in medias res

  1. […] In response to thus. […]

  2. beth says:

    It’s a very modern epic, but I’d love to send you a copy of “Thaliad” as a gift, if you let me know where. Happy New Year!

    • seon joon says:

      Beth,

      I would love to read Thaliad, and would appreciate your gift so much! As a modern epic, it would fit well into the reading project of this year. My address is:

      Seon Joon Sn.
      193 Mansfield Street
      New Haven, CT 06511

      Thank you so much!

      • beth says:

        It’s my pleasure! Please let me know what you think of it.

        I’m almost embarrassed to tell you that I am “teaching” meditation/contemplative prayer at the Anglican cathedral here in Montreal now. Your blog is an inspiration and a help to me, and reminds me to be quite humble about my own qualifications! Sending you a big hug this chilly morning!

  3. seon joon says:

    Beth,

    Best wishes on your class! I’m sure the class, and you, will be wonderful. I so look forward to reading “Thaliad;” my confession is that I wanted to get it as a Christmas present for myself, so it is an especially sweet gift. I will most certainly let you know my thoughts, although the cover alone has already delighted me.

    Thank you for the hug, and sending one back this crisp, and cold, afternoon!

Leave a Reply

