airborne (living hagiography 4.30.2012)

I have a cold. Not Cold Mountain, just one of my usual achy-icky-tickly throat colds.

My home temple finished a week-long Lotus Sutra kido on Saturday day and spent all yesterday on a ceremony for blessing new kasa and an evening Dharma Talk. Needless to say, I’m behind on more than small stones and Cold Mountain. And now I have my own small cold. Oh, sigh.

I have a supply of Airborne, this “Effervescent Health Formula” that I’ve been told will help me ward off the worst of this thing. I’ll let you all know if it’s as good as its advertising.

Will return to regular programming tomorrow. Tonight: early to bed.

9 comments on “airborne (living hagiography 4.30.2012)

  1. billandmaggie says:

    Hope you’re better soon.

  2. beth says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Patience…

  3. bighominid says:

    Get well soon!

    So: how do you nuns handle coughing amid the deep quiet (OK, I know it’s not always quiet) of the monastery? If the coughing risks disturbing a ritual, a ceremony, or chamseon, can you get up and leave? (I imagine that, for chamseon, the answer is easy: follow your situation. But what about rituals and ceremonies? Just hack and gasp your way through those, toughing it out until the end?)

  4. bighominid says:

    Get well soon!

    So: how do you nuns handle coughing in the deep quiet (OK, so it’s not always quiet) of the monastery? For something like chamseon, I imagine the answer is easy: just follow your situation, and if it’s time to walk out, then walk out. But what about for rituals and ceremonies? Can you just beg off and disappear to a quiet corner, or do you have to tough it out, hacking and gasping until the end?

    • seon joon says:

      It depends. Generally, we just hack and sniffle as quietly as possible. Since a lot of the time the Buddha Hall is resounding with any number of other voices and moktak, this isn’t so bad: a sniffly, sneezy nun goes largely unnoticed. It’s actually less bothersome to oneself and the community in a ceremony than in a Zen Hall. In the Zen Hall, actually, I just let the snot drip (no blowing) into a hanky I’d pressed under my nose. Then, during walking meditation, I excused myself to go honk away in a corner. That, and I probably invested in a lot of decongestants, although I recall the agony of sitting silently with a runny nose more than the medicine.

      And how are you? Sometimes, when I try to comment on your blog, I think my comments get eaten by the Moderator Monster, so I don’t know if you got my get-well wishes.

      • bighominid says:

        Feel free to delete my first attempt at commenting; I was under the impression that the comment hadn’t gotten through because I hadn’t signed in.

        If you left a comment on my blog anonymously, I may have deleted it since I have a “no anonymous comments” policy. If you left a comment with a name, but the comment got deleted anyway, then I apologize.

        Blogger’s “captcha” system recently changed; it’s harder to use than before, but this is in response to how smart the nasty little “bots” are getting. We all have to try harder to prove we’re human. Sorry for any inconvenience.

  5. bighominid says:

    Found it! I wrote about my own experience with a runny nose during meditation here. (The relevant passage is toward the end of that post.)

Leave a Reply

