the unexamined life (living hagiography 3.7)

… Or something to that effect.

March 9th is the examination for full precepts. Both novice monks and novice nuns will sit the same exam. Depending on a number of factors, including scores on the written portion of the test, an oral exam on ceremony, and an interview, each novice will be either passed, to attend the training and precepts-platform at the end of the month, or failed, to try again next year.

March 7 to March 11, I won’t be posting here. That paperwork snafu got worked out, so tonight I pack for Seoul and tomorrow I leave. Regardless of the exam’s outcome, or my performance (is it possible to have a personally virtuosic performance that nonetheless fails to meet someone else’s standards?), small stones and Cold Mountain’s echo will back on the 12th.

4 comments on “the unexamined life (living hagiography 3.7)

  1. Kevin Kim says:

    Were I taking this exam, my biggest fear would be that I might accidentally fart in the midst of all that intense silence. May you not fart at the wrong moment. Otherwise, to be honest, I can’t say I’m all that worried about whether you’ll pass. Call it faith, but I sense that awesome things are in your future.

    • seon joon says:

      No: farting during the written exam is no problem. Call it a Zen test of how settled the minds of all the little gray-clad acolytes are. What you really ought to fear is letting a foul one rip during the interview with senior monks…

      Thanks for the well-wishes. I won’t pass the written exam, because I didn’t prepare properly for it. (Truth be told, I disdain the exam on principle. Stubborn pride.) But I think the interview will go okay. Anyway…

  2. I hold you in my heart and in my prayers — may the outcome be wonderful!

Leave a Reply

