cold mountain (2)

Guard nothing. Let the horses run streaming through the open gate. They’ll find feed whether we worry about them or not. Put down the crooked rhythm, the tired march of orders. Hasten nowhere: I am so tired. Hum a song, a lullaby, a tuneless thing I can lie down in. Do not resuscitate. I will not return.

20120202-192602.jpg

The internet is down, so in lieu of finding a copy of Han Shan’s poems on-line, I wrote today’s poem out myself. Calligraphers will find much lacking in my brushwork, but know I tried my best. The Chinese should be read right to left, top to bottom.

Because of internet problems on my computer, I’m trying to post both words and images from my phone for the first time. Bear with me while I work out the kinks.

4 comments on “cold mountain (2)

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    This is shaping up to be a terrific series.

    I just wanted to point out, in case it has escaped your attention, that WordPress menus can accomodate category links, should you want to foreground your two series in that manner.

  2. seon joon says:

    Thanks, Dave. I’ll think about the category links; right now, the two series are pretty much all that’s happening and it’d be a clean solution to navigate from the sidebar.

  3. Kevin Kim says:

    You’ve become a talented calligrapher! How much do you charge to tutor?

    • seon joon says:

      Uh, talented? Thank you! I got in so much trouble at school for not being able to write properly or well (hangul and hanja) that I copied other, much better writers. I wouldn’t charge anything to help someone out. Believe me when I tell you, because I’ve seen what really talented calligraphers can do, I could never charge anything for it.

Leave a Reply

