new year’s resolutions: worship

I am glad I belong to a religion that worships a tree.

Stephen Batchelor,
Confessions of a Buddhist Atheist

Everybody worships. The only choice we get is what to worship.

David Foster Wallace

3 comments on “new year’s resolutions: worship

  1. That David Foster Wallace quote — holy wow! Yes, yes, yes, yes.

    • seon joon says:

      “Holy wow” pretty much covers it. It seems to me, this year will about making such choices. Not making a choice and orienting myself toward it from the beginning, but a committing to an on-going experience of exploration in my spiritual life. Which is why I loved DFW. (I read it in a very positive light, although I need go back and read the source it came from in order to get a better idea of what he might have had in mind when he said that.)

  2. […] on January 4, Buddhist nun and photographer Seon Joon expressed her “new year’s resolutions: worship” in visual form, with three very arboreal photos. She included this quote: I am glad I […]

Leave a Reply

